Prof Mercedes Maroto-Valer (FRSE, FIChemE, FRSC, FRSA) is Associate Principal (Global Sustainability) and Director of the Research Centre for Carbon Solutions (RCCS) at Heriot-Wat University. She has held academic appointments at the University of Kentucky (1997-1998), Pennsylvania State University (1998-2004) and University of Nottingham (2005-2012). She joined Heriot-Watt University in 2015 as the first Robert Buchan Chair in Sustainable Engineering and has been Director of the cross-university Energy Academy and Head of the Institute of Mechanical, Process and Energy Engineering, and more recently Assistant Deputy Principal (Research and Innovation). She has recently taken up the role of Associate Principal for Global Sustainability, providing leadership for the University’s approach to sustainability across our global community.
She is Director of RCCS that comprises >50 researchers and an active research portfolio of >£17m. RCCS is a world leading centre delivering research and innovation for the wider deployment of low-carbon energy systems required for meeting net-zero targets. She has over 500 publications and holds leading positions in professional societies/editorial boards, including President Environment, Sustainability and Energy Division – Royal Society Chemistry (RSC), Editor-in-Chief Greenhouse Gases: Science and Technology, Member of the British Geological Survey (BGS) Advisory Committee, Board Member of the Energy Technologies Partnership (ETP), Royal Academy of Engineering (RAEng) Frontiers of Engineering Steering Group, Member Communities Board-Royal Society Chemistry (RSC), and Institute Chemical Engineers (IChemE) Energy Centre – The Leadership Forum. She has received numerous international prizes and awards, 2019 Scottish Women Award – Services to Science and Technology, 2019 IET Innovation Transport Award, 2019 Honorary Doctorate by TU Delft, 2018 SRUK/CERU Merit Award, 2013 Hong-Kong University Mong Distinguished Fellowship, 2011 RSC ESED Early Career Award, 2009 Philip Leverhulme Prize, 2005 US Dep. of Energy Award for Innovative Development, 1997 Ritchie Prize, 1996 Glenn Award- Fuel Chemistry American Chemical Society, 1993 ICI Chemical & Polymers Group Andersonian Centenary Prize. Her research portfolio includes as PI/CI projects worth ~ £35m, and a prestigious European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Award.